Tuckerton Seaport and Baymen’s Museum

Some of you may actually be reading this in the dark right now! Man, did we have quite a storm! I hope if your electric isn’t on now, that it will turn on soon!

Every week, I am going to try to get something new up on this blog here!  I know school is out for summer… so now is the time to explore with the kids and going out and doing things together!  One place you need to visit, and to put on your South Jersey bucket list, is the Tuckerton Seaport Museum.. in none other than… Tuckerton, New Jersey!

tuckapoo

Yes! The Pine Barrens are getting some love too!

tuck21

A fun little craft station at the museum.

_DSC9986

Inside the museum!

_DSC9997

Kid learning about frogs and gets to be a frog… Priceless!

_DSC9988

The view from the visitor’s entrance and museum.

tuck2

Great information and fun facts can be found throughout the premises!

_DSC0005

Replica of the Tucker’s Lighthouse that once aided sailors on Little Egg Harbor.

I came to visit in early Spring of this year… however, during the summer is when this place comes alive!  The Tuckerton Seaport is a working maritime village and a museum that consists of 17 buildings that all connect via a boardwalk along Tuckerton Creek.  

_DSC0013

Come on out and learn about our history!

_DSC0017

View from close to the top of the lighthouse.

_DSC0031

The one and only “BILLY.” I know… How original, eh?

_DSC0009

Gnarly! Jersey surfer girls!

This is a fabulous place to learn a bit about Jersey Shore history AND the surrounding ecology and environment.  What is also pretty awesome, is the kids actually will learn and have fun on top of it too.  I took my 3-year-old with me and he enjoyed his entire visit! You’ll learn about Jersey surfers, railroads, and a ton of other neat little history tidbits about our homeland! A lot of folks don’t realize this, but the lighthouse you see on the premises is actually a replica of the one that was washed away by the sea in 1927.  The original lighthouse was built in 1848 to guide boats into Little Egg Harbor.  It was a short brick tower with about 15 lamps and 15 inch reflectors.  A lot of the sailors actually did not like the Tucker Lighthouse (as it was called) because it did not give off adequate light.  Today, the replica lighthouse is a pretty cool museum that houses a lot of history about the Jersey Shore!

This place has a ton for kids and the family to enjoy… from crafts, to sea creatures, two goats and even a park.  You could literally spend hours here checking out each building and seeing what they also have to offer…  Duck decoys, anyone?

tuckeee

The cool premises… reminds me of a tiny bit like Smithville… although, I think this place is much cooler!

tuckeeedddd

Yes!

tuck222

There are even chickens here!

tuck333

Part of the fun little park on the premises!

tuck5

Our last stop before we head out… The little pirate, argh!

Go on out and have a great time this summer!

I pay my way for everything I showcase here and everything is my own unbiased opinion!  I have NO SPONSORS.  Even though I have been asked due to the amount of traffic I receive daily!  I average between 1,000 to 40,000 visitors PER DAY.

Please support my real business at http://www.shootingstarsouthjersey.com. If you know someone looking for a great family, maternity or children’s photographer… I’m your gal!  I travel and know all the best locations throughout South Jersey!  Even if you give me a “like” to my photography Facebook page (Located on the right side of the link I shared above) You are supporting me and this awesome website!

Until our next adventure, my friends!

-The Yummygal

One thought on “Tuckerton Seaport and Baymen’s Museum

  1. Pictures are outstanding. You and your camera do well together. May I ask what camera you are using?
    On another note I remember driving down to the shore areas from Pennsville with my grand parents and making that right turn at Tuckerton with the church on the corner. Their car was a 1936 plymouth. We would head for Sea Isle City and enter it on what was the old road used then. Later my grand parents had built a story and a half house in Whale Beach which was between Strathmere and Sea Isle City. This was a time when dunes were more prominent. I remember running on top of them and looking down. Great times on the beach. A northeaster( we called them then) in the late 30s devastated the area,turned our house upside down on it`s peak with many people`s belongings swept into the bay. While in the service my girlfriend and I drove down to this area and it looked as if there was never a settlement established there. These were the days of the Big Band era which is still in part of my blood!
    Looking forward to more of your journeys

Comments are welcome! Share your love and knowledge of South Jersey.