Bond, Flemish Bond… Architecture That Is…

The Thomas Copperwaite House
Lenola & Kings Highway
Moorestown, NJ

Now that it is winter… It is time to write!! It’s been a cold December thus far and I’m hoping to get a lot up here on the blog… my explorer friends!!

I am 2 years behind now. Yup, you heard that right. I prefer exploring over “blogging” and honestly just don’t have the time to sit down and post!

However, I will be adding a ton of cool spots to explore here… Hopefully, within the next upcoming weeks!

IMG_0016.JPG

At Lenola Road and Kings Highway, there’s a brick beauty just minding her own business. Most folks drive by this place and very often don’t realize there is some interesting history on this corner. Now, not the type of “corner” as one would assume like the Admiral Wilson days!! Such dirty minds, folks! Hehe!

IMG_0019.JPG

IMG_0018.JPG
Old Habs photo above, bottom is obviously present-day.

Welcome to the Thomas Copperwaite house, my friends!

This impressive Flemish style home was constructed in 1742. Hessians once marched by this historic structure during the Revolutionary War. There is a story of about 1778 as the Hessians were retreating from Philadelphia and were passing by on King’s Highway. The owners of the home had just baked their weekly pies, breads and cakes (which was very common to do in this era). The British soldiers reportedly carried off and ate the whole lot of the tasty treats. Leaving no morsel behind…

IMG_0014.JPG

IMG_0015.JPG

IMG_0017.JPG

The initials on the right facing gable are “CW” or initials for CopperWaite. John Copperthwaite (there are various spellings of this last name as I have found) was the builder of this brick baby and he owned over 150 acres of surrounding land in Moorestown. The Copperthwaite’s were active Quakers in Moorestown and there are distant family relations to renowned artist, Thomas Eakins.

Current owners are trying to rezone the property for commercial use (presently zoned residential) which could cause issues for this historic structure. There are talks about possibly moving the home to another location, or it possibly being destroyed, if no one wants it.

It’s easy to miss this place amid all the commercial hustle and bustle of this location. However, it’s just another historic treasure to check out and explore… Plus, to add to your list of places to see in South Jersey. Hey, it may not be around much longer.

Until our next adventure, my friends!

-The Yummygal

4 thoughts on “Bond, Flemish Bond… Architecture That Is…

  1. My father lives right down the street from this house and I live nearby as well. I have photographed this house many times and have posted photos of it on my Facebook group but somehow the date on the side of the building slipped past me, I never noticed it before. Good eyes! I guess I’ll have to get out here and get more photos of this building while I still can. I wonder if there is a way we can have it declared a historic landmark so it will be afforded some protection? They renovated the building a few years ago, or at least it looked like they did. I wonder why they would go to that trouble if there were any plans in the works to demolish or move it? I hope it will be saved.

  2. The house was left to my stepfather by his aunt who owned it for years. He lived there for years after divorcing my mother, unfortunately he allowed the house to become almost unlivable. The house was even struck by lightning causing more damage. When he died he left it to his son who did the renovations I imagine with the idea of selling it for a large profit. Not being on speaking terms I have no idea what the house looks like now inside. Even in its poor condition you could tell it was a proud house withstanding years of neglect and abuse. There was a fireplace in every room and last time I was there one of the bedrooms still had a straw mattress. I hope it isn’t destroyed or moved this house has been through enough it deserves to stay where it is.

Comments are welcome! Share your love and knowledge of South Jersey.