Townsends Inlet

Hi there! Summer is quickly approaching and thought I’d get this up here!  I don’t want to go in full detail about it… I’ll just let the pictures speak from themselves (I did not alter them in any way so that you can see its true beauty!)  I’ve written about the history of Townsends Inlet, in the past on the facebook page, but figured folks like to go to some places that I post up on here and this surely needs to go on your list!  Sometimes, I just want to show South Jersey without getting too technical on the matter.

towsends inlet 040 copy

Catching fish on a hot summer day.

 

 

A fisherman on the sure trying to get some fish!!

A fisherman on the shore trying to get some fish!!

 

towsends inlet 013 copy

Looking towards the bridge.

 

Between Sea Isle City and Avalon, there is a beautiful little gorgeous oasis right off of Ocean Drive called Townsends Inlet.  It’s a special little gem we have nestled in our South Jersey backyard. Hey, the bridge may go out from time to time… due to mostly storm damage within the last few years, but it is still a perfect little piece of sunset paradise.  I love visiting here throughout the summer to catch our gorgeous sunsets.  It is never truly packed and is just a nice calming peaceful piece of heaven.

 

She's starting to wind down.

She’s starting to wind down.

Now she's starting to shine.

Now she’s starting to shine.

 

The spectacular summer display.

The spectacular summer display.

 

Last scene and now heading back home.

A different view.

 

 

You’ll see fisherman and boats traveling to and fro…. Kids laughing and playing.  Adults snuggled up in blankets or wearing a sweater to keep warm.  I love this place and I go here often.  The sunsets are just spectacular.  There’s nothing better than winding down your summer day and coming here.

 

I don’t know about you, but I can’t wait for summer! However, I am enjoying this spring!! It’s been gorgeous here in South Jersey!

 

Until our next adventure, my friends!

 

The Yummygal

11 thoughts on “Townsends Inlet

    • Townsends Inlet, one of my favorite visiting spots in the days of my youth.
      North of Sea Isle City on Grant St. which was then called Whale Beach was where my grandparents had a summer home and where I spent many a summer on the beach and tall dunes. I remember helping my grandad drill a well. 40 ft down but still brackish water. We use it anyway for showers washing of the sand from swimming at the beach. We got our drinking water from a spigot along the shore road. The home site and area is no longer visible due to storms.
      At Townsends Inlet we would enjoy the dinners at Busch`s restaurant. A favorite eating place in the area. South of Townsends Was Avalon. My uncle was the first born in this town. I did a lot of fishing with my grandad in Strathmere bay renting a boat from Fox`s pier.
      At whale beach I did two summers as a life guard. The guard stand,boat,life preservers etc were loaned from Ocean City.
      Have returned to the area a few times with my daughter Karen. To see the changes of these places since those day in the 30`s and 40`s is sad but memories like photographs are locked away.

    • Do you remember Vansant’s Pier; also Friehofer’s breads and sticky buns at Schellem store??? I am 83 plus who knew Capt. Cramer and Grant. Forgot name of Capt. of Caroline , Anybody care to reply???

      • I spent my summers, 1940’s & 50’s (school out until Labor Day evening) going barefoot all summer. My parents owned a house at 89th St.and the Ocean in Townsends Inlet, an old 2 sty house with a tennis ct. on the side of house. My Dad would ride with Capt. Bill Barton in a Coast Guard Cutter and they would patrol the Coast at night…I think they had black out drills at times along the coast.The ice man came and delivered a block of ice and he would chip off pieces for us to eat. We would bike to Schellum’s for goodies.Sticky buns were the best. There also was a pier up the street where my brother would fish…We looked for clams on the sand bars.. We had bond fires in the sand dunes on the beach and cooked corn on cob in their husks. My parents played baseball on the wide, wide beautiful white sandy beach, running from base to base. I was just at this home (no longer own) Aug. 4, 2018. to take pics. The entrance was moved to the ocean side. House had a beautiful stone f/place.Now homes are built on the Ocean side, where originally there was an old small shack there and nothing else near by. Never knew who lived in it. I am now 77 yrs…I MISS those WONDERFUL times, and that beautiful home with 20×30′ BR’s. and apartments in the rear with a separate entrance for servants. House was built by a man who had imported the Marble in the home.
        I noticed that the sign called this area Sea Isle City now. Did Sea Isle City incorporate Townsends Inlet into Sea Isle City? And is the mailing address now Sea Isle City?
        Our family was from the Phila. area.
        Anyone with info on the house can email me. I’m now in Va.
        Bonnie Biddle Sheppard
        bonniesheppard16@gmail.com.
        8/9/2018.

        .

  1. I would like to see some photos of South Seashore lines trolleys Ocean City Atlantic City ( via Pleasantville and Absecon )

Comments are welcome! Share your love and knowledge of South Jersey.