Maurice River Bluffs

The Maurice River Bluffs Preserve

Millville, New Jersey

“In poker, there are many ways to bluff, depending what situation you are in.”

20130808-163037.jpg

The Maurice River.

It was winter going on spring…. It’s one of those days that breaks, from all the frosty/freezing cold of the fall and winter. You just want to get the heck outside. You’re itching for some nature and determined to find it. Well, welcome to the Maurice River Bluffs, my Yoda friends. ” Do or do not, there is no try.” And Remember, a Jedi can feel the Force flowing thru him” – Obi-Wan to Luke because the Maurice River Bluffs are a fantastic force of Jedi power. So get out your “hiking stick”, or I like to call it, “light saber” and lets go on a magical journey to the Bluffs.

20130808-161906.jpg

Parking lot.

20130808-162120.jpg

Hmmm. Lets take this trail.

The magnetic Maurice River begins in Gloucester County, and flows south, forming the eastern boundary between Salem and Cumberland Counties and travels on to the Delaware Bay. The Maurice is quite big at 20 miles long. The roaring river is an important link to wildlife. It offers high quality water and is delivered to the Delaware Bay. This magical water system plays a crucial role for the regional oyster, crab, and fish industries of the Bay. Which the industry has been significant both historically and economically in the South Jersey region for centuries.

20130808-162149.jpg

“Hi” trees.

20130808-163548.jpg

Just a little meadow.

This 500-acre solace of Nature Conservancy sanctity.
Is well… Located on the Maurice River. Do you get it? Maurice River Bluffs? A popular river for boaters, nature nuts (like myself) and anyone who wants to see true rustic beauty in South Jersey… Well… I found THE place.

“R2-D2 where are you ?” – C3PO. Oh… Just seeing if you’re still paying attention.

20130808-162244.jpg

Purty as a picture

20130808-162510.jpg

The eagle is circled.. Yes, I did not zoom in.

Many folks who visit, encounter something pretty phenomenal… Their first look at a bald eagle… in the wild. Gasp. Yes, I know sweet. Now, I have seen some “baldys” out and about on my adventures, but I think this encounter really captivated me. It was due to the true bucolic nature of where she was perched.. On a tree and on an island, overlooking the Maurice River. It was truly an idyllic scene and she was the true QUEEN. The ideal American conception of how eagles live in the wild.

20130808-162608.jpg

Hi water!

20130808-162700.jpg

I guess the stump has been used as a cap remover?

Now, there are also ospreys, who call the marvelous Maurice their home and many other fine feathered fowl creatures.

20130808-162813.jpg

A cute little picnic area.

A few other features to this preserve… The newest addition, the yellow trail. They call her (“they”=Yummygal) the mellow yellow trail, fyi.. The trail caters to a 35-foot long drawbridge. It takes you to significant steeper areas of the wildlife sanctuary and definitely was a pain in the Yummy hiney or Darth Vader.. as we MUST stick to our Star Wars theme… This trail was difficult navigating with a stroller… But Yummy persevered and enjoyed the journey (and the 5 pounds she lost that day).
“You can not escape your destiny. You must face Darth Vader again.” – Ben to Luke

20130808-162003.jpg

I think “Yummybaby” is enjoying himself.

20130808-163356.jpg

A beautiful overlook.

20130808-164016.jpg

The new Bird Blind.

This trail will eventually lead to what they call the “Bird Blind.” A nice sheltered lookout to watch all the waterfowl frolicking in the river. You will also encounter a nice deck that allows you to sit on the river and watch the spectacle of aviary feathered friends. As you sit there… Remind yourself that a bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song. Tweet Tweet Tweet!

20130808-163444.jpg

The awesome draw-bridge.

There are multiple benches and picnic areas so bring the family and friends (even furry friends, if you don’t have any human ones). Just please don’t leave your trash.

20130808-162933.jpg

Ruins.

20130808-163149.jpg

Inside the ruins…

20130808-163242.jpg

Hello, there.. two floor fireplace!

There are also mystical ruins of a Century ago, in this preserve, so there is a ton of stuff to see. It will tickle your adventurous spirit.
And for all my Star Wars geeks out there…

May the Maurice River Bluffs Force… Be With You.

And singing a little “Weird Al.”

“Well, I heard my friends really got in a mess

So I’m gonna have to leave Yoda I guess

But I know that I’ll be coming back some day

I’ll be playing this part ’till I’m old and gray

The long-term contract I had to sign

Says I’ll be making these movies till the end of time

Oh with my Yoda
Yo-yo-yo-yo Yoda Yo-yo-yo-yo Yoda. “

Well… Yummy has to exit the rear…”Strong am I with the Force, but not that strong. Twilight is upon me and soon, night must fall. That is the way of things. The way of the Force.” – Yoda to Luke.

Side note:

A map can be downloaded here http://nature.org/ourinitiatives/regions/northamerica/unitedstates/newjersey/placesweprotect/delaware-bayshores-maurice-river-bluffs-preserve.xml#thingsToDo

Until our next epic adventure, my friends! -The Yummygal

6 thoughts on “Maurice River Bluffs

    • Thanks David! I attempt to make it a little fun, especially this post. Some posts are more seriously written, but not this one. Hope folks get the weird Star Wars reference. Just trying to let folks learn and of course, laugh! Beautiful place and had a wonderful day though.

  1. Thx for this site 🙂 I grew up in Bridgeton but haven’t lived there since 1992. I was recently in town for my 20yr HS reunion and I loved every second of it. Everything seemed so much smaller than I remember- but beautiful. I miss those big victorian homes and tall tall trees. More Cumberland County adventures please!!

  2. several things: 1. you DON’T report on the same place, as far as i know –> there’re lotsa “wildernessy”/wild/scenic nature places within a reasonable commute of your home base 2. i would probably really enjoy RUNNING those trails — i would suspect there are local trail-running groups who put on group-outings and/or ‘races’ in places like that? 3. you’ve got your camera at the ready and seem to be continually scanning and aware. 4. who’s that in the stroller? are you an auntie? mother of a young’un? 5. you conduct a fair amount of background research on wherever you go! you could (or have you already?) leave your card with the local historical societies as a tour guide!

  3. I was here yesterday, which I found from browsing Google Earth. Totally forgot you wrote this post…I read it a while back lol. It was very humid, so I didn’t partake in all the trails, but plan to return in the fall to find the things I missed…mostly what you feature here. Did you see the abandoned wells and pick-up truck?

Comments are welcome! Share your love and knowledge of South Jersey.